Why Form a Limited Liability Company (LLC)?

$49 + State Fee & 1st Year FREE Registered Agent

See Detailed Pricing

Taxes and Fees for Your North Carolina LLC

Here’s a breakdown of the likely taxes and fees you’ll incur when you start and run an LLC in North Carolina.

North Carolina Fees

North Carolina LLC Formation and Filing Fee

When you first form your LLC in North Carolina, you will need to pay a fee of $125 to file your Articles of Organization (you can opt to pay $175 to expedite the formation process). You will also need to pay a yearly fee of $200 when you file your annual report.

North Carolina Permits and Licenses

You will need to pay licensing and permit fees on a regular basis depending on the type of business you are operating and where you are located. These do vary from city to city and industry to industry. If you don’t want to do the legwork yourself, we provide a complete Business License Research Package that will tell you all of the licenses and permits for your new LLC. It includes:

  • A comprehensive package of all the licenses, permits and tax registrations required for your business
  • The application forms to file with the appropriate licensing authorities
  • Your customized Business License Research Package will be emailed to you within two days of your company being filed by the state
  • Remember that operating your business without the required licenses can expose you to risks and fines from state and local governments

North Carolina Taxes

North Carolina State Income Tax

North Carolina has state income tax that members will pay through their personal tax returns.

North Carolina State Sales/Use Tax

If you’re selling products or services in North Carolina, you may need to pay a state sales tax of between 4.75 percent and 7.5 percent.

North Carolina Other Taxes

You may need to pay other taxes and fees depending on the type of business you run. Learn about other North Carolina taxes.

If you have employees, you must register for unemployment insurance tax and state income tax withholding. If you are selling taxable goods or services in the state, you must register for North Carolina Sales Tax.

Federal Taxes

Self-Employment Tax

Because your North Carolina LLC income flows through to your personal tax return, you must pay self-employment tax (also known as FICA, Social Security or Medicare tax) on your earnings. This is typically at a rate of 15.3 percent. You will be able to deduct your business expenses from your income when working out how much self-employment tax you owe.

Note that if you are an LLC electing to be treated as an S Corp, you can reduce your self-employment tax. We have a handy S Corp tax calculator that will help you envision how much you could save.

Federal Income Tax

You will also need to pay regular federal income tax when you file your tax return every year. You can see the federal tax brackets here. Note that you will be able to apply your standard deduction, personal exemption and business expenses to this tax.

Ready to Start your North Carolina LLC?

Incfile provides a cost-effective service to help you create your North Carolina LLC. We guide you through the process and handle most of the administrative steps, such as filing the Articles of Organization on your behalf. Our basic package also provides a free Registered Agent service for the first year.

Only $49 + State Fee To Launch Your Business

Clear Pricing. No Contracts. No Surprise.

What are the fees and requirements to form a business in North Carolina?

Filing Time and Price

The state charges this amount to file a new business entity. This fee goes directly to the Secretary of State.

State Fee State Filing Time Expedited Filing Time
$127 5 Weeks 14 Business Days

Compliance Requirements

This report is mandatory and must be filed within the specified time frame in order for the entity to remain in good standing with the state. Failure to file this report can lead to the company being revoked or administratively dissolved.

Annual Report

Frequency: Annually

Due Date: April 15th

Filing Fee: $200

Select the package that works best for you.



+ $127 (state fee)

The Basics To Get You Started

Prepare & File Articles Of Organization
FREE Registered Agent for !st Year
Lifetime Customer Support

Get Started




+ $127 (state fee)

Everything from Silver +

EIN / Tax ID Number
Personalized Operating Agreement
Customized LLC Kit

Get Started




+ $127 (state fee)

Everything from Silver & Gold +

Expedited Filing
UPS Delivery
Contracts Library

Get Started

How We Compare

Subscribe now to learn more about LLCs and starting a business