How Much Does It Cost to Form a Corporation in Nevada?
Legal business registration — and maintaining a compliant business — involves necessary expenses and investment. Some of these costs are payable to the Secretary of State, while others are due to additional state entities or the federal government. Here are some common requirements and fees.
Please note that fees for a permit or business license in Nevada may be due when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. Find more details below.
Initial Nevada Corporation Filing Fee
When setting up a corporation in Nevada, you’ll need to file a form and pay a filing fee. Here are the current Nevada corporation fees and filing times:
When you use Incfile to form a corporation in Nevada, we charge you the state filing fee and forward it to the Secretary of State when we file your incorporation paperwork. This filing fee includes the filing fee of $75 as well as a fee of $150 for your initial annual list of officers and a fee of $500 for your state business license. All of these should be completed at the initial time of filing.
Just pay the required Nevada corporation filing fee.
Employer Identification Number
Every corporation in the country should have a unique EIN (Employer Identification Number) from the Internal Revenue Service. You'll use your EIN when you open a business bank account, file taxes and pay employees. You can get one directly from the IRS, or Incfile can get one for you.
If you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a Foreign Corporation.
Nevada Foreign Corporation Registration
Before you can bring an arm of your business from another state into Nevada, you must request Foreign Qualification in Nevada. This means the state gives you permission to conduct business there.
To request registration of a Nevada Foreign Corporation, you must complete a Foreign Qualification and pay a processing fee of $725. This fee includes the $75 filing fee as well as the $150 fee for your initial annual list and a $500 business license fee. The state may have additional registration requirements, so contact the Secretary of State directly for more information and to ensure you're in compliance with state law.
Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State
If you plan to expand your Nevada corporation into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary before you can create a physical presence, hire employees or bank in that state.
You'll likely have to complete at least one application and pay a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you start the process, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly.
Above all, contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) to confirm their requirements and for specific instructions.
If you need assistance, Incfile provides a complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.
Nevada Annual List Requirements
Most states require business entities to file an annual (or other periodic) report. Nevada is a little different in that instead of a full report you're required to submit an annual list of officers.
Annual Report and Business License
Due by the last day of the anniversary month of filing.
The Initial Annual Report and Business Licence are filed with the articles of incorporation. As such, the $350 fee is added to the $75 filing fee and used to satisfy payment for both the Initial Annual Report and Business License.
*Client will be responsible for filing Annual Report and Business License in subsequent years.*
The fee for submitting your annual list is $150. Also due at the time of filing is your annual business license renewal fee of $500.
Nevada Business Licenses and Permits
Before you start doing business, you must secure the necessary state, federal or local business licenses and permits to operate your corporation. Some of the fees will only need to be paid once, while others may be ongoing charges.
Permits and licenses vary based on:
You're not legally required to have Nevada corporation bylaws, however it's always a good idea to write and adopt them.
Bylaws will detail and outline rules for carrying out tasks related to managing your corporation including, but not limited to:
- The number of directors the corporation has
- How they'll be elected, their qualifications and the lengths of their terms
- When, where, and how your board of directors can call and conduct meetings
- Voting requirements
The bylaws must then be adopted (and amended, if necessary) by the board of directors and shareholders.
Despite their not being legally required, a set of bylaws can be extremely helpful in making sure you’re organized and can help protect your business from any future changes and events that may affect your business.
Other Nevada Corporation Filing Requirements and Fees
The State of Nevada requires you to complete a few more tasks before you can begin conducting business.
Appoint a Director
Some states require corporations to appoint a full board of directors. Nevada Revised Statutes requires all corporations to have at least one director, as well as a president, a secretary and a treasurer. A single person can hold more than one position.
In Nevada, the board of directors (or the single director) elects officers, such as the president, CEO, etc. Nevada corporation law requires corporations to have at least a president a secretary and a treasurer. A single person can be the president, secretary, treasurer, sole director and sole shareholder.
Issue Stock to Shareholders
To raise business capital and keep it separate from company owners' money, every corporation in the state must sell stock to its shareholders. The Articles of Incorporation must authorize the sale of at least one share, and the corporation cannot sell more shares than are authorized.
Hold Annual General Meetings
As per the Nevada Revised Statutes Title 7, Chapter 78, NRS 78.310 you may hold annual meetings, and it's generally a good idea to do so.
Get a Fictitious Name or DBA
If you want to register a DBA in Nevada (fictitious name), you must file a form with the County Clerk of the county in which your corporation is located, and pay a filing fee.
Change the Registered Agent
If your corporation is based in Nevada, then you must have a Registered Agent in Nevada. You'll need to appoint one when you file your Articles of Incorporation. You can also change your Registered Agent later by filing a Statement of Change form and paying a fee of $60.
It’s free for the first year if you form your corporation with us and $119 a year after.
Reserving a Name for Your Corporation
If you're not quite ready to start your business, you can reserve a name for 90 days with the Secretary of State by filing a form and paying a fee of $25. First, conduct a Nevada corporation search and learn the state's business naming rules to ensure you choose a name that meets legal requirements.
Amending Facts About Your Corporation
The Nevada Secretary of State forms you fill out when you first incorporate include certain facts about your business at that time. Through the years, some or all of this information may change. If it does, you'll need to file a Certificate of Amendment with the Secretary of State along with a minimum filing fee of $175. You can do this yourself or Incfile can do it for you.
You'll need to file a Certificate of Amendment when you:
- Change the company's name
- Add, remove or change a director
- Change the Registered Agent
- Change the number of shares your corporation is authorized to issue
- Change any other facet of your business that was listed on the original Certificate of Formation
Get a Certificate of Good Standing
Some organizations may request that you prove your corporation's compliance with laws and tax requirements. In most states - including Nevada - this proof is provided with a Certificate of Good Standing.
If you need to prove you have met your commitments, you’ll need to request a Nevada Certificate of Good Standing from the Secretary of State. You can do this via the state's online portal for a fee of $50.
The information listed above details many of the fees a standard corporation will be required to pay in Nevada. In some circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic or ad hoc fees not listed above.
Of course, your corporation will also probably need to pay federal, state, self-employment (if it's an S Corp) and other taxes. You'll find more information on the Nevada taxes page.
FAQs About Nevada Incorporation Fees
We charge you this fee at cost and then pay it to the Secretary of State on your behalf when forming your Nevada business.
It depends on various factors, including:
- Governing organizations in your industry
- Federal, state and local regulations
- Where you're located
- The type of business you run
Many new businesses need a business license, and you may be required to obtain additional licenses and permits. Our Business License Research Package can take the guesswork out of it for you and help you learn what your corporation needs to be compliant.