Here’s a breakdown of the likely taxes and fees you’ll incur when you start and run an LLC in Nebraska.
When you first form your LLC in Nebraska you will need to pay a fee to file your Certificate of Organization. You can find the current fees and turnaround times here. You will also need to pay to publish information about your LLC in a newspaper for three weeks, and to file an affidavit of publication.
You will need to pay licensing and permit fees on a regular basis depending on the type of business you are operating and where you are located. These vary from city to city and industry to industry. If you don’t want to do the legwork yourself, we provide a complete Business License Research Package that will tell you all of the licenses and permits required for your new LLC. It includes:
Remember that operating your business without the required licenses can expose you to risks and fines from state and local governments.
You will need to pay state tax on any business profits that you generate and pay to yourself. These profits flow through to your personal state tax return.
If you’re selling products or services in Nebraska, you may need to pay a state sales tax.
You may need to pay other taxes and fees, depending on the type of business you run. Learn about other Nebraska taxes.
Because your Nebraska LLC income flows through to your personal tax return, you must pay self-employment tax (also known as FICA, Social Security or Medicare tax) on your earnings. This is typically at a rate of 15.3 percent. You will be able to deduct your business expenses from your income when working out how much self-employment tax you owe. Note that if you are an LLC electing to be treated as an S Corp, you can reduce your self-employment tax.
You will also need to pay regular federal income tax when you file your tax return every year. You can find details of federal tax brackets online. Note that you will be able to apply your standard deduction, personal exemption and business expenses to this tax.
Incfile provides a cost-effective service to help you create your Nebraska LLC. We guide you through the process and handle most of the administrative steps, such as filing the Certificate of Organization. Our basic package also provides a free Registered Agent service for the first year.
|State Fee||State Filing Time||Expedited Filing Time|
|$107||7 Business Days||1 Business Day|
This report is mandatory and must be filed within the specified time frame in order for the entity to remain in good standing with the state. Failure to file this report can lead to the company being revoked or administratively dissolved.
Due Date: April 1st of each odd-numbered year.
Publication Requirement:Domestic Nebraska limited liability companies must publish a notice of organization, amendment, merger or conversion for three successive weeks in some legal newspaper of general circulation, near the designated office of the limited liability company. The notice of organization shall show the name of the limited liability company, the street address of the designated office and the general nature of the business to be transacted.
Select your business type to see how Incfile can work for you.
Get started with easy-to-follow guides, wizards, content and support documents. Help is only an email away.
+ $107 (state fee)
Prepare & File Articles Of Organization
FREE Registered Agent for !st Year
Lifetime Customer Support
+ $107 (state fee)
EIN / Tax ID Number
Personalized Operating Agreement
Customized LLC Kit
+ $107 (state fee)
Launch Your Business Only $49 + State Fee.
Subscribe now to learn more about LLCs and starting a business