Articles of Incorporation
Actually getting your new corporation authorized to conduct business in Nebraska requires filing articles of incorporation with the Corporation Bureau of the Nebraska Secretary of State’s office. The articles must be delivered to the state by one or more incorporators, who may be either any natural person of legal age or a business entity. The articles must include:
Some other items that aren’t required-but which may be included in the articles of incorporation-are:
Nebraska requires that your shares have a stated par value. Most incorporators make sure that the capital value of their authorized shares (number of shares multiplied by par value) is $10,000 or less in order to pay the minimum filing fee. If you want to authorize more than one class of shares, you must list the designation of each class, the number of shares in each class, a statement of the par value of the shares in each class, and the rights and restrictions associated with each class.
There is a $5 per page filing fee plus a $60 minimum capital stock fee if your corporation’s capital stock does not exceed $10,000, for a minimum filing fee of $65 for one-page articles. Your corporation’s capital stock is the number of shares authorized in your articles multiplied by the par value of these shares. The stock fee increases if your corporation’s capital stock exceeds $10,000, as follows:
Nebraska law requires publication of a notice of incorporation for three successive weeks in a general circulation newspaper in the county where the corporation’s principal office is located, and proof of publication then submitted to the Secretary of State.