Loading

MICHIGAN

Why Form a Limited Liability Company (LLC)?


$49 + State Fee & 1st Year FREE Registered Agent

See Detailed Pricing

Taxes and Fees for Your Michigan LLC

Here’s a breakdown of the likely taxes and fees you’ll incur when you start and run an LLC in Michigan.

Michigan Fees

Michigan LLC Formation and Filing Fee

When you first form your LLC in Michigan, you will need to pay a fee of $50 (or $100 if expedited) to file your Articles of Organization.

Michigan Permits and Licenses

You will need to pay licensing and permit fees on a regular basis depending on the type of business you are operating and where you are located. These do vary from city to city and industry to industry. If you don’t want to do the legwork yourself, we provide a complete Business License Research Package that will tell you all the licenses and permits necessary for your new LLC. It includes:

  • A comprehensive package of all licenses, permits and tax registrations required for your business
  • The application forms to file with the appropriate licensing authorities
  • Your customized Business License Research Package will be emailed to you within two days of your company being filed by the state
  • Remember that operating your business without the required licenses can expose you to risks and fines from state and local governments

Michigan Fees

  1. Michigan LLC Formation and Filing Fee: A one-time fee of $50 when you first file your Articles of Organization.
  2. Michigan State Annual Report Fee: A yearly fee of $25 when you file your annual report.
  3. Michigan Permits and Licenses: Various fees for renewing your licensing and permit fees on a regular basis. These depend on the type of business you are operating and where you are located. They do vary from city to city and industry to industry.

Michigan Taxes

Michigan State Sales/Use Tax

If you’re selling products or services in Michigan you may need to pay a state sales tax.

Michigan Other Taxes

You may need to pay other taxes and fees, depending on the type of business you run. Learn about other Michigan taxes.

Federal Taxes

Self-Employment Tax

Because your Michigan LLC income flows through to your personal tax return, you must pay self-employment tax (also known as FICA, Social Security or Medicare tax) on your earnings. This is typically at a rate of 15.3 percent. You will be able to deduct your business expenses from your income when working out how much self-employment tax you owe.

Note that if you are an LLC electing to be treated as an S Corp, you can reduce your self-employment tax. We have a handy S Corp tax calculator that will help you envision how much you could save.

Federal Income Tax

You will also need to pay regular federal income tax when you file your tax return every year. You can see the federal tax brackets here. Note that you will be able to apply your standard deduction, personal exemption and business expenses to this tax.

Ready to Start your Michigan LLC?

Incfile provides a cost-effective service to help you create your Michigan LLC. We guide you through the process and handle most of the administrative steps, such as filing the Articles of Organization on your behalf. Our basic package also provides a free Registered Agent service for the first year.

Only $49 + State Free To Launch Your Business

Clear Pricing. No Contracts. No Surprise.

What are the fees and requirements to form a business in Michigan?

Filing Time and Price

The state charges this amount to file a new business entity. This fee goes directly to the Secretary of State.

State Fee State Filing Time Expedited Filing Time
$50 15 Business Days 8 Business Days

Compliance Requirements

This report is mandatory and must be filed within the specified time frame in order for the entity to remain in good standing with the state. Failure to file this report can lead to the company being revoked or administratively dissolved.

Annual Report

Frequency: Annually

Due: February 15th

Note: LLCs registered after September 30th of the preceding year are exempt from filing the report in the subsequent year. 

Filing Fee: $25

Learn more about starting a business in Michigan

Additional resources, guides, and articles for better decision making.

Select the package that works best for you.

Silver

49

+ $50 (state fee)

The Basics To Get You Started

Prepare & File Articles Of Organization
FREE Registered Agent for !st Year
Lifetime Customer Support

Get Started

MOST POPULAR

GOLD

149

+ $50 (state fee)

Everything from Silver +

EIN / Tax ID Number
Personalized Operating Agreement
Customized LLC Kit

Get Started

BEST VALUE

Platinum

299

+ $50 (state fee)

Everything from Silver & Gold +

Expedited Filing
UPS Delivery
Contracts Library

Get Started

How can we help you?
Client Support

Send email

Thanks for your message! We'll get back to you as soon as we can.

Send Other