How Much Does Starting a Louisiana LLC Cost?
Legal business registration — and keeping your business in good standing — involves some necessary expenses. Some of these costs are payable to the Louisiana Secretary of State (SOS), while others are due to the federal or other state government entity. We’ve summarized some of the most common requirements and fees here.
Note that Louisiana business license and permit fees may need to be paid when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. Find more details below.
Initial Louisiana LLC Fees
When you first start your business, you’ll need to file as an LLC with the Secretary of State and pay a filing fee. Here are the current Louisiana LLC fees and filing times:
|State Fee||State Filing Time||Expedited Filing Time|
|20 Weeks||8 Business Days|
* includes online processing fees
When you form through Incfile, we collect this fee from you and forward it to the Louisiana SOS when we file your formation paperwork.
Employer Identification Number
Every LLC in the U.S. should have a unique Employer Identification Number (EIN). This is provided by the Internal Revenue Service, and you use it when you file taxes, open a business bank account and pay employees. You can get one yourself at no cost from the IRS, or have Incfile do it for you.
When you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a foreign LLC.
Louisiana Foreign LLC Registration
Before you can bring an extension of your business from another state into Louisiana, you must request Louisiana Foreign Qualification. This means the state gives you permission to conduct business there.
To request registration of a Louisiana Foreign LLC, you must complete an Application for Authority to Transact Business in Louisiana and pay a $150 filing fee. The state may have additional requirements so contact the Louisiana SOS for more information.
Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State
If you plan to expand your Louisiana LLC into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary if you'll have a physical presence, employees or banking in that state.
This process will likely entail completing an application and paying a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you move forward, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly. Contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) to confirm their requirements and for specific instructions.
If you need assistance, Incfile provides complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.
Annual Report Requirements
Most states — including Louisiana — require businesses to file an annual (or other periodic) report with the Secretary of State. When you file your annual report, you’ll need to pay a fee of $30. Here are the Louisiana annual report filing requirements:
Annual Report and Business License fees
On or before 1st day of anniversary month of organization
Louisiana Business License and Permit Requirements
As a business owner,you must ensure you have the proper state, federal or local business licenses to operate your LLC. Some of the associated fees only need to be paid once, while others are ongoing charges.
Permits and licenses vary based on:
Remember that operating your business without the required licenses can expose you to risks and fines from federal, state and local governments.
You can research these permits and licenses yourself or use Incfile’s Business License Research package, which includes:
- A complete report on all the licenses, permits and tax registrations your LLC will need
- The application forms you will need to file with the state, regional and federal licensing authorities
The state doesn't require you to have a Louisiana LLC Operating Agreement in place.
An Operating Agreement is a document that covers how the business will be run, how managers and members are chosen, rights and duties of members and several other key areas.
This document can be extremely helpful in making sure you’re organized and prepared for any future events that may affect your business.
You can make changes to the template later based on your specific requirements and preferences.
Other Potential Louisiana LLC Fees or Requirements
There are several other fees or requirements that you may need to pay or meet during the life of your LLC. These ad hoc fees will only be payable in specific circumstances, which we’ve listed below.
Obtaining a Trade Name or DBA
Reserving a Name for Your LLC
If you don’t want to form your LLC right away, you can reserve a business name for 120 days with the Louisiana SOS for a fee of $25. First, perform a Louisiana business search and learn about rules pertaining to business names to ensure the name you choose meets all state requirements.
Amending Certain Facts About Your LLC
Your business formation documents state certain facts about your Louisiana business when it's formed. Over time, these facts may change. If they do, you need to file Articles of Amendment on the GeauxBIZ website and pay a $100 fee. You can do this yourself or have Incfile complete the filing on your behalf.
Getting a Louisiana Certificate of Good Standing
Some organizations will request that you prove your LLC’s compliance with laws and tax requirements. If you need to prove you have met your commitments, you’ll need a Certificate of Good Standing from the Louisiana SOS. You can order one online for a $20 fee.
The fees listed above detail many of the charges a standard LLC will be required to pay in Louisiana. In some unusual circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic or ad hoc fees not listed above.
Of course, your LLC will also likely need to pay self-employment, payroll, federal, state and sales taxes. More information about taxes can be found on the Louisiana Business Taxes page.