1 (888) 462-3453

How Much Does It Cost to Form an LA Corporation?

Legal business registration — and maintaining good standing — involves necessary expenses and investment. Some of these costs are payable to the LA Secretary of State, while others are due to additional state entities or the federal government. Here are some common requirements and fees.

Please note that fees for a State of Louisiana business license or permit may be due when you first form your business, on an ongoing schedule or on an ad hoc basis. Find more details below.

Initial Louisiana Corporation Filing Fees

When starting a business in Louisiana State, you’ll need to file a form and pay a filing fee. Here are the current Louisiana corporation filing fees and times:

Louisiana Filing Time & Price

State Fee State Filing Time Expedited Filing Time
$75 20 Business Days 3 Business Days *
State Fee $75
State Filing Time 20 Business Days
Expedited Filing Time 3 Business Days *

*$30 for 24 hours, $50 for 2-4 hours

When you use Incfile to register a business in Louisiana, we charge you the state filing fee and forward it to the Secretary of State when we file your incorporation paperwork.

Incfile can file your incorporation paperwork for you for free.

Just pay the required Louisiana corporation filing fees.

Louisiana allows you to incorporate more quickly by paying a rush fee

Employer Identification Number

Every corporation in the country should have a unique EIN (Employer Identification Number) from the Internal Revenue Service. You'll use it when you open a business bank account, file taxes and pay employees. You can get one directly from the IRS, or Incfile can get one for you.

Foreign Corporations

If you want to do business in a state other than the one where your business is based, you must create a Foreign Corporation.

Louisiana Foreign Corporation Registration

Before you can bring an arm of your business from another state into Louisiana, you must request Louisiana Foreign Qualification. This means the state gives you permission to conduct business there.

To request registration of a Louisiana Foreign Corporation, you must complete an Application for Authority and pay a processing fee of $125. The state may have additional registration requirements, so contact the Louisiana Secretary of State directly for more information and to ensure you're in compliance with LA corporation law.

Foreign Qualification to Operate in Another State

If you plan to expand your Louisiana corporation into another state, you’ll first need Foreign Qualification or a Certificate of Authority from that state. This is necessary before you can create a physical presence, hire employees or bank in that state.

You'll likely have to complete at least one application and pay a filing fee, but each state has its own requirements. Before you start the process, compare state filing times and state filing fees so you can plan accordingly.

Above all, contact the state government entity that administers business (usually the Secretary of State) to confirm their requirements and for specific instructions.

If you need assistance, Incfile provides a complete Foreign Qualification service for all states.

Louisiana Annual Report Requirements

Most states require business entities to file an annual (or other periodic) report. Louisiana requires an annual report to be filed once a year with the LA Secretary of State.

When you complete your annual report, you'll do so by filing it online accompanied with a filing fee of $30.

Annual Report



Due Date

On or before 1st day of anniversary month of organization.

Filling Fee

Incfile can complete and file your Annual Report on your behalf

State of Louisiana Business License and Permit Requirements

Before you start doing business, you must secure the necessary state, federal or local business licenses and permits to operate your corporation. Some of the fees will only need to be paid once, while others may be ongoing charges.

Permits and licenses vary based on:


The type of business you run (e.g., attorneys must pass the state bar exam)


The industry your corporation operates in (e.g., restaurants will need health permits)


The location of your corporation (state, county or city) (e.g., a license to conduct business in the city of New Orleans)

Operating your corporation without the required State of Louisiana business license can leave you vulnerable to risks, such as fines from local, state and federal governments.

You can research these permits and licenses yourself, or use Incfile’s Business License Research Package, which includes:

  • A complete report on all the licenses, permits and tax registrations your corporation will need
  • The applications you'll need to file with the local, state and federal licensing authorities

Corporate Bylaws

Unlike many states, you aren't required to have Louisiana corporation bylaws if you form a corporation in the state. That being said, it is recommended that every corporation have them, and by all means, continue to follow them.

Bylaws will outline certain rules for carrying out tasks related to managing your corporation including, but not limited to:

  • the number of directors the corporation has
  • how they'll be elected, their qualifications and the lengths of their terms
  • when, where, and how your board of directors can call and conduct meetings
  • voting requirements

The bylaws must then be adopted (and amended, if necessary) by the board of directors and shareholders.

Drafting a set of bylaws can be extremely helpful in making sure you’re organized and can help protect your business from any future changes and events that may affect your business.

Other LA Corporation Filing Requirements and Fees

The State of Louisiana requires you to complete a few more tasks before you can begin conducting business.

Appoint a Director

Some states require corporations to appoint a full board of directors. LA corporation law requires all corporations to have a board of directors consisting of at least one director.

Appoint Officers

In Louisiana, the board of directors may elect individuals to fill one or more offices of the corporation, but must elect at least one secretary. One individual may hold more than one office or duty at any given time.

Issue Stock to Shareholders

To raise business capital and keep it separate from company owners' money, every Louisiana corporation must sell stock to its shareholders. The Articles of Incorporation must authorize the sale of at least one class of share, and the corporation cannot sell more shares than are authorized.

Hold Annual General Meetings

This is one area where Louisiana differs from other states. You may hold annual meetings, and it's generally a good idea to do so. But should you decide not to, Louisiana Law Revised Statutes Title 12, Part 7, Subpart A, § 1-701 states, "The failure to hold an annual meeting at the time stated in or fixed in accordance with Subsection A of this Section does not affect the validity of any corporate action."

Get a Trade Name or DBA

If you want to register a Louisiana DBA (trade name), you must file a form with the Secretary of State and pay a filing fee of $75.

Incfile can file your Trade Name or DBA forms on your behalf

Change the Registered Agent

If your corporation is based in Louisiana, then you must have a Registered Agent in the state. You'll need to appoint one when you file your Articles of Incorporation. You can also change to a new Registered Agent later by filing a form and paying a fee of $25.

Let Incfile serve as your Registered Agent.

It’s free for the first year if you form your LA corporation with us and $119 a year after.

Reserving a Name for Your Corporation

If you're not quite ready to start your business, you can reserve a name for 120 days with the Secretary of State by filing a form and paying a fee of $25. First, conduct an LA corporation search and learn the state's business naming rules to ensure you choose a name that meets legal requirements.

Amending Facts About Your Corporation

When you incorporate, the Louisiana business forms you fill out include certain information about your business at that time. Through the years, some or all of this information may change. If it does, you'll need to file Articles of Amendment with the Secretary of State along with a filing fee of $75. You can do this yourself or Incfile can do it for you.

You'll need to file a Certificate of Amendment when you:

  • Change the company's name
  • Add, remove or change a director
  • Change the Registered Agent
  • Change the number of shares your corporation is authorized to issue
  • Change any other facet of your business that was listed on the original Certificate of Formation

Get a Certificate of Good Standing

Some organizations may request that you prove your corporation's compliance with laws and tax requirements. In most states - including Louisiana - this proof is provided with a Certificate of Good Standing.

If you need to prove you have met your commitments, you’ll need to request an LA Certificate of Good Standing from the Secretary of State. You can do this by requesting it online. There will be a code at the bottom of the requested certificate/certified copy which will allow you to print numerous certificates/certified copies (with the same date) for a period of 120 days.

Incfile can obtain an LA Certificate of Good Standing on your behalf

The information listed above details many of the fees a standard corporation will be required to pay in Louisiana. In some circumstances, there may be other one-off, periodic or ad hoc fees not listed above.

Of course, your corporation will also probably need to pay federal, state, self-employment (if it's an S Corp) and other taxes. You'll find more information on the Louisiana taxes page.

FAQs About LA Corporation Filing Requirements and Fees

What Happens to the State Fees I'm Charged When I Incorporate?

We charge you this fee at cost and then pay it to the LA Secretary of State on your behalf when forming your business.

How Do I Get a Business License in Louisiana?

It depends on various factors, including:

  • governing organizations in your industry;
  • federal, state and local regulations;
  • where you're located; and
  • the type of business you run.

Many new businesses need a business license, and you may be required to obtain additional licenses and permits. Our Business License Research Package can take the guesswork out of it for you and help you learn what your corporation needs to be compliant.

Your Business with Incfile

No Contracts. No Surprises. Only $0 + State Fee to Launch Your Business.

Start Now